Now there's a word to get you all going!
Yep, there are loads of 'em, and after the winter we've had it's hardly surprising. I won't enter into the 'councils aren't doing enough'-'why aren't they all filled immediately after I call'-'it's disgusting, the country is falling apart' conversations, but I do have suggestions.I find the ride is more comfortable, and less damage is done to the wheels and suspension if you don't drive in to them.
Sounds obvious, really, but having been a passenger with some friends, recently, apparently not.
First, don't follow too close behind other vehicles, keep at least the 'two seconds' gap. This will allow you to observe the road ahead and plan your route around many potholes.
Second, along with the first, keep your speed down. Again allowing you more time to observe and avoid.
Third, concentrate on your driving and observe the road ahead. Together with 1 and 2, it will help. On roads you use often - remember where you last saw them, unless your memory is failing.
Fourth, take extra care at night. Main beam is useful, as long as you can manage to find the dip switch when required, which seems to be an issue on newer cars.
Let's face it, most of you are not interested in driving you just want to get from A to B with the least effort, as fast as you can. No amount of advice will help you, you will just whinge when you bend your rims, and blame anyone except your own incompetence. I appreciate many of you have been further de-skilled by buying cars that do it all for you, but hey ho, that's progress. The standards of your driving can only get worse ... unless you do something about it.
Happy potholing!





